News: Honors

Professor Suresh named Franklin Institute Laureate

Professor Suresh, who is currently serving as director of the National Science Foundation, will receive the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science for his contributions to understanding the mechanisms of materials. See the…   more

Professor Suresh elected to NAS

Congratulations to Professor Subra Suresh who has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences!  Prof. Suresh is currently head of the National Science Foundation.   more

MIT researchers receive Somiya Award

Professor Harry Tuller and Profesor Bilge Yildiz (NSE) will receive the Somiya Award from the International Union of Materials Research Societies. They are recognized for their work on "Design of ionic and mixed conducting ceramics for fuel cell application." The award will be presented in…   more

Prof. Yip receives Robert Cahn Award

The Journal of Nuclear Materials has named Professor Sid Yip the 2012 winner of the Robert Cahn Award in recognition of his scientific achievements, his interest in bridging scientific disciplines, and his ability to communicate science to a broad audience. …   more

Prof. Demkowicz to receive TMS Early Career Faculty Fellow Award

At the TMS Spring Meeting in Orlando, Prof. Demkowicz will receive the 2012 Early Career Faculty Fellow Award. This award recognizes an assistant professor for his or her accomplishments that have advanced the academic institution where employed, and for abilities to broaden the technological…   more

Professor Suresh receives 2011 Nadai Medal from ASME

Congratulations to Prof. Subra Suresh on receiving the 2011 Nadai Medal from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers! Prof. Suresh, the current head of the National Science Foundation, is honored for his pioneering contributions to the field of fracture and fatigue of engineering materials…   more

Prof. Chris Schuh named MacVicar Fellow

We're proud to announce that Prof. Chris Schuh is one of the 2011 MacVicar Fellows. The MacVicar Fellowship is one of MIT's highest honors and recognizes Margaret MacVicar, 1964, ScD 1967, MIT's first dean for undergraduate education and founder of UROP (Undergraduate Research Opportunities…   more

Prof. Tuller honored by ECS

Prof. Harry Tuller received the Electrochemical Society’s High Temperature Materials Division Outstanding Achievement Award, which recognizes excellence in high temperature materials research and outstanding technical contributions to the  field of high temperature materials science. The award…   more

Prof. Suresh to receive honorary doctorate

Recognized for his role as a pioneering researcher in cellular and molecular nanomechanics, Prof. Subra Suresh, Dean of the School of Engineering, will receive an honorary doctorate from the…   more

Prof. Ceder awarded MRS Medal

The MRS Medal is awarded for a specific outstanding recent discovery or advancement which has a major impact on the progress of a materials-related field. This year's winner is Gerbrand Ceder, and the award will be presented during the Materials Research Society Fall Meeting in Boston, Dec. 1.…   more