Staff Award Nomination

Please consider nominating a member of the DMSE administrative, support, or teaching staff for an excellence award.

Infinite Mile and Ellen J. Mandigo Award

Recognizing the contributions School of Engineering staff make to the MIT community

The School of Engineering is currently accepting nominations for its Infinite Mile Awards and Ellen J. Mandigo Awards. Nominations are usually due in February or March, and all School of Engineering employees are eligible. 

Infinite Mile Award

The Infinite Mile Awards (IMA) support the Institute’s objectives for excellence. Launched in 2001, the awards recognize and reward members of the MIT School of Engineering’s administrative, support, sponsored research, and, when appropriate, academic staff. The IMAs supplement, rather than replace, other existing reward mechanisms at the Institute, and they are separate and distinct from base pay. The awards are presented in three categories at an annual ceremony each spring. The categories and criteria are:

  • Excellence: Successful nominees are individuals or teams (generally no more than five people) whose work is of the highest quality. The nominees stand out because of the high level of commitment, enormous energy, and enthusiasm they bring to their work.
  • Diversity and Community: Successful nominees promote diversity and harmony in the workplace by taking positive steps toward promoting cross-cultural sensitivity and a sense of community. They create or help create a welcoming and supportive environment in which all are encouraged to excel.
  • Institutional Cooperation: Successful nominees welcome and make the most of opportunities to collaborate across units. They contribute to cross-functional efforts, embrace the needs and values of the Institute, and are generous with their time and knowledge.

This year, nominations for the Infinite Mile Award are due April 9, 2020.

Ellen J. Mandigo Award for Outstanding Service

The Ellen J. Mandigo Award for Outstanding Service honors a member of the School of Engineering who has demonstrated, over an extended period-of-time, intelligence, skill, hard work, and dedication to MIT. This year, nominations for the Ellen J. Mandigo Award are due April 9, 2020.

James N. Murphy Award

The James N. Murphy Award was established in 1967 in memory of James N. Murphy for his immeasurable contribution to community life at the Institute. It is given to a non-faculty employee whose spirit and loyalty exemplify this kind of inspired and dedicated service, especially with regard to students.

This year, nominations for the James N. Murphy Award are due April 24, 2020.


Nomination suggestions will be collected and considered by the DMSE Award Committee, and then nominations will be made.

More information about the School of Engineering award's program, the nomination process, and the names and department affiliations of past award winners

More information about the James N. Murphy Award