Professors Belcher and Shao-Horn became members of the National Academy of Engineering

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected 83 new members and 16 foreign members, announced NAE President C. D. (Dan) Mote, Jr., today.  This brings the total U.S. membership to 2,293 and the number of foreign members to 262.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.  Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

Belcher, Angela M., James Mason Crafts Professor of Biological Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge.  For development of novel genetic evolution methods for the generation of new materials and devices.

Shao-Horn, Yang, W.M. Keck Professor of Energy, department of mechanical engineering and department of materials science and engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge.  For contributions to design principles for catalytic activity for oxygen electrocatalysis for electrochemical energy storage for clean energy.

See the full list of winners here!

Outside References

Related Faculty

News Categories