National Academy of Sciences elects six MIT professors for 2017

Professor Klavs Jensen is among six MIT Faculty members who have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in recognition of their "distinguised and continuing achievements in original research." The group was among 84 new members and 21 new foreign associates elected to the NAS. Membership in the NAS is one of the most significant honors given to academic researchers.

Jensen’s research interests revolve around reaction and separation techniques for on-demand multistep synthesis, methods for automated synthesis, and microsystems biological discovery and manipulation. He also investigates catalysis, chemical kinetics, and transport phenomena, along with the development of simulation approaches for reactive chemical and biological systems.

Jensen received his PhD in chemical engineering from the University of Wisconsin at Madison. He is the recipient of several awards and prizes, including a National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator Award, a Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation Teacher-Scholar Grant, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and the inaugural IUPAC-ThalesNano Prize in Flow Chemistry. Jensen is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and he is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, and the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Read the full article here!

Outside References

Related Faculty

News Categories