Jennifer Rupp wins international electrochemistry prize

Jennifer L. M. Rupp, who holds joint appointments at MIT as an assistant professor in the departments of Materials Science and Engineering (DMSE) and Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS), has won the 2017 “Science Award Electrochemistry,” from Volkswagen and BASF. Rupp was honored for her work on energy storage systems.

Rupp received the award, which is worth about $47,000, on Dec. 1 at ceremonies held at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology in Germany. Rupp’s Electrochemical Materials Laboratory at MIT is working to replace the flammable liquid electrolyte in lithium batteries with a safer solid-state lithium electrolyte.

MIT assistant professor of materials science and engineering Jennifer Rupp (center) receives BASF and Volkswagen's Science Award Electrochemistry at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology in Germany. Posing at the award ceremony are: (l-r) Volkswagen AG Research and Development Group Head Ulrich Eichhorn, Catalytic Innovations founder and CEO Stafford Sheehan (who received a special prize for applied research), Rupp, BASF Chief Technology Officer and Vice Chairman Martin Brudermüller, and Karlsruhe Institute President Holger Hanselka.

Read the full article here!

Outside References

Related Faculty

News Categories